Esplora contenuti correlati

Interministerial Committee for European Affairs

Italy's Interministerial Committee for European Affairs (CIAE) was established under Law No. 234 of 24 December 2012, setting forth general rules on Italy's participation in the formation and implementation of legislation and policies of the European Union. Its main purpose is to ensure, at political level, a unitary national position on EU legislative proposals and policies.
The Committee's governance is set via Decree of the President of the Republic No. 118 of 26 June 2015, which establishes that the Committee operates within the Presidency of the Council of Ministers. 
The Interministerial Committee for European Affairs is convened and chaired by the President of the Council of Ministers or, by virtue of a delegation of authority, by the Minister for European Affairs. Members of the Committee are the Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Minister of Economy and Finance, and other Ministers institutionally in charge of items on the Committee's agenda. The Presidents of the Conference of Italian Regions, the National Association of Italian Municipalities and the Union of the Provinces of Italy also participate in the Committee when matters falling within their competence are discussed.
The outcomes of CIAE meeting sessions are laid down in official documents (position papers) issued by the Department for European Policies. Such position papers are then supported, in agreement with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, within negotiations at EU level.
CIAE's activity is supported by a dedicated Technical Evaluation Committee (CTV) that commonly gathers prior to CIAE sessions to ensure technical and administrative coordination.

Technical Evaluation Committee

Italy's Technical Evaluation Committee (CTV) operates in the framework of the EU legislation building process, coordinating Italy's national positions in view of the meetings of the Interministerial Committee for European Affairs (CIAE).

Go back to start